Champagne Super Nova…


To paraphrase the mono-browed Gallagher Brothers of South Manchester “Crack open champagne on’t super Nova”.

I took ownership of my first piece of my wild camping kit this week and was very keen to test drive it asap.

One thing was for sure as I headed down to the local park, it sure weighted a hell of a lot less than the Vango 500 Icarus with optional awning, footprint and carpet I use for family and friends camping trips these days.

Weighing in at just 2.85kg, this lightweight beauty would not be putting too much strain on my ageing frame in a few weeks time, who knows there may still be some weight allowance for hair products…

I think the lump hammer I was carrying to hammer home the tent pegs (which I never ended up using) was in fact heavier than the tent itself, but as that was soon to be replaced by either a lightweight plastic effort or left out altogether replaced by the heel of a hiking boot, I worried not about my future weight allowance and cracked on with opening this (hopefully) bag of delight (or should I see de-lite [not the pop band]).

So, ladies and gentleman (or as the London Underground now says in its new politically correct and gender neutral parlance “So, everybody”) please allow me to introduce to you to the Vango Nova 200:

Nova 200 - 1

So here we have the Nova 200 in all of it’s minimalist glory, super lightweight and super compact. Let the unpacking commence (Christmas in July)…

Nova 200 - 2

Left to Right: Rods, Pegs and Entrance Groundsheet; Outer Tent; Inner Tent (as you’ll see I didn’t RTFM in great detail as I thought the Entrance Groundsheet was some sort of inner curtain, it was only after watching the official Vango You Tube channel when I got back did I find out what it was, glad I hadn’t ordered a footprint from eBay at the park)…

Nova 200 - 3

Super lightweight pegs and spares (I haven’t quite worked out what the tent pegs with the round hoops are yet – anyone shed any light on those?)…

Nova 200 - 4

Super lightweight rods, taking just a few seconds to set up…

Nova 200 - 5

In go the rods, again super quick…

Nova 200 - 6

The Nova 200 beginning to take shape…

Nova 200 - 7

As this was a quick erection (story of my life) I didn’t hammer the pegs in all of the way (again story of my life). Outer tent is up…

Nova 200 - 8

Orange is the new green. Inner tent is in and on go the clips…

Nova 200 - 9

Inner tent is up and relatively roomy, could be a bit snug if there were two lard arses in there though…

Nova 200 - 10

Door closed, sleeping…

Nova 200 - 11

Porch erected (Wot No Groundsheet?)…

Nova 200 - 12

Not a bad space to store 1 – 2 rucksacks…

Nova 200 - 13

The view from the crack of my arse…

Nova 200 - 14

All done. As this was the first time I had put it up it took me about fifteen minutes, but next time it should be up in around half the time…

Nova 200 - 15

It took most of the 7 minutes I took to dismantle the tent getting these fiddly little clips apart (anyone have any tips of doing this the easy way, I tried using a tent peg to for the clasp open with little difference?)…

All in all I was impressed with the new purchase, super lightweight, super compact, super Nova! Of course time will tell whether it is truly any good, but as things stand I’m a happy (to-be) camper…

Leave a Reply

