The Search for the Quantum Soul…


Invisible things. Unseeable things. There are plenty of things in this Universe that we cannot perceive due to the limited senses that we have, even with the advent of technology and instrumentation. Granted we can see a lot more than we used to be able to, but we are still limited to perceiving the macro-world and not the immaterial world.

We cannot see feeling, yet we can feel or detect it. We cannot see emotion, yet we can feel or detect it. We cannot see consciousness, yet we know that it exists (whether local or non-local, science or God is still up for grabs).

Reality is both self-perpetuating and internally generated. What I perceive, what I see, what I experience is personal to me, very personal to me. We may see an object in the same way from a materialistic perspective, but how we feel about it will invariably be very different. That said, if reality is both self-perpetuating and internally generated, then you may not actually exist (“there is no us, there is only I”).

Metaphysics has and will always be a hard nut to crack. To prove one’s own subjective experience difficult if not impossible, and not very scientific.

Spirituality and noetics has a problem, a hard problem. Science is easy. You take a thing you can perceive, you run a test, you see the results, you have the evidence to suggest the way a thing is. How do you do that with a thing you cannot perceive a thing you cannot see? Science sees consciousness as an epiphenomenon of the most complex organism in the known Universe (the human brain), and as such it is the responsibility of non-science to prove otherwise.

I have read evidence to suggest that consciousness exists outside of the brain and although I lack any real direct experience thus far of knowing that, I lean more towards that way of thinking. Mainstream science conveniently bundles up all mystic experience under confusion and delusion, rather than tackling the hard problem head on.

That said, there are people out there who are in search of scientific evidence that the soul exists and it does so at a quantum level (and by quantum I mean quintessence – the fifth element, Akasha). Dr Penny Sartori and Professor Stuart Hameroff are both experts in the field of anaesthetics and suggest that conscious awareness and experience occurs even when the brain is flat-lining (be it a near death experience or under anaesthetics).

The study of quantum mechanics (what Einstein called spooky action at a distance) and the progression towards a unified theory of everything may prove one way or another that consciousness exists in a dimension outside the material world.

Science, religion, philosophy and spirituality can co-exist. Science, religion, philosophy and spirituality does exist and it resides in me.

I may have near death experiences, I may have out of body or psychedelic experiences and I may be able to hear communications from realms beyond but how do I prove that to the outside world?

The answer is I don’t have to. What I see, what I experience, what I know is personal to me and only me.

I witness synchronicities on a regular basis and see them as markers for the bigger picture, evidence to suggest that all is not what it seems and in fact the quantum soul may in fact exist…

Leave a Reply

