Dream Diary: Day 3


DATE: 15th April 2014
TIME: 8 Hours 10 Mins
MEDITATION: Partial (30 mins in morning – Tai Chi / Zazen / Reiki)
REALITY CHECKS: Yes (4 times during the day / in between dreams)
MIND CHECKS: Yes (5 mins before sleep)
SLEEP TALK RECORDER: Yes (although nothing significant recorded)
HYPNOGOGIA: No
DREAM SIGNS: Yes
LUCIDITY: No

RECALL ONE: Back in the DHSS…

Another day back in the office. As I walk through the dark narrow corridor before entrance, I hear the ringing of phones. Another day back in the call centre. Mid way through my shift “GM” call me over to his desk, which for some reason is in the middle of a huge wire frame contraption which goes up a few hundred feet, noting that there was no ceiling to the office, above us only sky. He states that if I wanted, I could climb to the top of the tower and take a zip ride all the way to the bottom, as long as I would make a donation to a LGBT Charity (associated to the Pride movement), which I thought was a bit odd as he was the school bully for many years at my comprehensive school.

I agree and begin to climb the tower with a female colleague I do not know the name of. We both reach the top and secure ourselves for the zip ride. As we make our way down, I realise that the whole thing as actually a big zipper, as we speed down the spiral, I look back and the wire frame has turned into material and the two pieces separate like the zipper on a pair of denim jeans. As I get towards the bottom going faster and faster my vision fades and the dream ends.

Dream Signs: Working with “GM” (Context); “GM” interested in gay rights (Inner Awareness); Wire Frame (F); Zipwiring in office (Action)

RECALL TWO: School Dayz…

I enter the place where we are having our school reunion, it appears to be a dome type structure, a marquee of some sorts, in dark aqua marine. There is one main room where a lot of people already are, with an annexe towards the back. I see “SD” and “JD”, girls I hadn’t seen in over 30 years. As others start to filter into the room I see “K” and “H”, former friends who I hadn’t seen for quite a while as we fell out many years ago. I go over to Ken who now has no hair and his ears are sticking out, I smile to myself that he now looks like the character “Pob” from the Welsh TV station S4C.

After saying hello to “H” who I had not changed one bit in the last 15 years, I make my way to the back annexe. I see “AW” who used to be my best friend at junior school, he and a few others are gathered around a machine which presses pennies into commemorative coins for certain events, although I cannot the design of the pressed item. “AW” has an oddly shaped key and he appears to be some sort of machine repair man. I walk over to him and say ‘“AW”, I haven’t seen you in a long time, what are you doing these days?’ I look away temporarily towards an outside cooking area and when I turn back, “AW” replies to my question but with a stutter, his face has changed into “SM” and he continues by saying that he was a forensic solicitor, a private investigator who looked at cases that police couldn’t solve. We walk outside towards the cooking area, and find that it is a serve-cook, self-serve place, so I start to cook us some steaks, as I do so my vision fades and the dream ends.

Dream Signs: “K” and “H” at my school reunion (Context); “K” looking like Pob ” (Form); “AW” turning into “SM” (Form)

RECALL THREEE: CSI: Irtby…

I am on a train in a dark tunnel. The place is completely black and no lights are on. I know I’m on a train because I can hear the familiar noise of the train going down the track as well as the rocking motion. As the train leaves the tunnel, I realise that I am sitting next to “AW” (who is “AW” and not “SM” this time) and he tells me of the case he is working on. It is a very strange one. As he describes it to me, my vision changes to the actual scene of the original crime (like a dream within a dream), and I am in a really old and creepy house. At the bottom of the staircase, there are two small children, accompanied by their mother, a grotesque character who is a miniature version of a woman. All of her features are relative, just miniscule in comparison to someone of her age. She must be around the height of a two year old child.

My vision of the house fades, and I am back on the train, “AW” continues his story that it is alleged that the woman who was into dark arts and that she had murdered both of her children, and herself, but that no bodies were ever found. He is onto a lead in the case which is taking us north to the National Library Archives. As the train passes close by to a road sign, I see that we are near to Chester-Le-Street, and a short while later, we go past the Newcastle river side, the Tyne in full view. Our final destination is Irtby (which I see in big letters on the platform sign) and we get off the train and make our way over to the archives building, which coincidentally is on to the train station platform.

We go in to a small room and I’m surprised to see my friends “L” and “C” in there looking for books. This archives had a specific children’s book section and that was were “AW” suggested we go. On a small scrap of old parchment, I can make out scrawled letters EDIN TONBLY, and I point out to “AW” that it is an anagram of Enid Blyton and that we should look for her section. We find it and start scanning the bookshelves, and right in the middle of her archive, there is an ancient looking tome called “Exhumus”. I pick it of the shelf, and it’s not really a book, it has book like appearance, but also like packet. As I go to open it, dust starts to fall out. I open it and to my horror I find the ashes of the two small children and the mother, as well as the small shrunken skull of the evil matriarch. Accompanied with the remains, there are some odd black magic trinkets. I realise that the clue was in the book title, “Exhumus” relating to exhume – to unearth, and that is exactly what we have done. All of a sudden a character who is sitting on a chair at the end of the aisle approaches. It is Derek Dick (Fish from the rock band Marillion) and he tries to steal the trinkets from the ashes, as he does so, my vision fades and the dream ends.

Dream Signs: “AW” and I on investigation (Context); Miniature matriarch (Form); “L” and “C” in Irtby Archives (Context); Fish (Context)

Leave a Reply

