Marked for life


I have been planning to, meaning to, get a back tattoo for many, many years. Back in the day when I was into darker arts and influenced by the artwork of H.R Geiger, I was going to get a flying ‘Genestealer’ alien which covered the whole of my back. I did come across the perfect image once, but as it was a photo of someone’s back, it wasn’t clear enough to print, so I never did get it done, and I guess I’m kind of glad of that now.

My experiences over the last 18 months have completely changed my priorities, outlook and well being, and in the main it’s been down to my uptake of yoga, meditation, reiki and soon to be Tai Chi which I begin this Monday. I have also come to recognise that the number seven comes up an awful lot in my life, and I am of the opinion that for some reason something significant will happen to me on or around my imminent forty-second birthday.

In Hinduism and other belief systems, chakras are energy points in the subtle body. They are located at the physical counterparts of the major plexuses of arteries, veins and nerves. Chakras are part of the subtle body, not the physical body, and as such are the meeting points of the subtle (non-physical) energy channels, called nadiis. Nadiis are channels in the subtle body through which the life force (prana), or vital energy moves. Reiki…

There are seven chakras that are considered to be the most important ones. The word chakra derives from the Sanskrit word for “wheel” or “turning”, but in the yogic context a better translation of the word is ‘vortex or whirlpool’. Each of the seven chakras represents a seven year cycle, and at age forty-two, I will reach the sixth cycle of my physical existence.

The Ajna chakra (which is the sixth chakra) is symbolised by a lotus with two petals. It is at this point that the two side nadis Ida (yoga) and Pingala are said to terminate and merge with the central channel Shashuma, signifying the end of duality. The seed syllable for this chakra is the syllable OM.

The Anya chakra is known as the third eye chakra and is linked to the pineal gland which may inform a model of its envisioning. The pineal gland is a light sensitive gland that produces the hormone melatonin which regulates sleep and waking up, and is also postulated to be the production site of the psychedelic dimethyltryptamine, the only known hallucinogen endogenous to the human body.

Ajna’s key issues involve balancing the higher and lower selves and trusting inner guidance. Ajna’s inner aspect relates to the access of intuition. Mentally, Ajna deals with visual consciousness. Emotionally, Ajna deals with clarity on an intuitive level.

In Tibetan Buddhism, this point is actually the end of the central channel, since the central channel rises up from the sexual organ to the crown of the head, and then curves over the head and down to the third eye. While the central channel finishes here, the two side channels continue down to the two nostrils.

I have done a lot of research this year into consciousness studies and more specifically the pineal gland. If this chakra does represent the pineal gland (and associated connections to the super-conscious higher self and subconscious) then maybe it’s no surprise that I am drawing my own esoteric conclusions as to why forty-two is significant for me.

So to mark this event, I have finally landed on the design for my back tattoo (I must get the “down” removed from my lower back):

I have placed a deposit down already and I’m booked in for the 28 June (due to the high demand for the quality services of our local inker) though I will go into the store today to share my design and ask to be put on any cancellation list he has to get it done sooner.

Being inked with each chakra will help my meditation and help my reiki, as each time I cycle through each Solfeggio Frequency, I cycle through each chakra point, I cycle through each tattoo…

Leave a Reply

