Reiki Diary Level 2 Cleansing: FINAL


Awake. More than the opposite of not asleep. Much more. Awake as in awakened. Awakened to the fact I’m now of the opinion that life is more than just existence, more than materialism and physicalism. My journey over the last twenty-one days has given me an all-new direction, one which was there all along, just that I was looking in the wrong place. I had tried the Buddhist Meditation Centre, I had tried yoga through the Samsung suite of applications on my SMART TV, I had tried looking into radical and far out new age theories, longing for a return to the inner peace I had last summer. None of those things did it for me. Granted they were very interesting and are all part of the new me, but reiki really was there all along, waiting for me to remember.

Eventually I did remember and booked myself in for a standard session with “L”. It was only after talking with her for many hours that I decided to go to the next level. She is totally convinced that I am very spiritual, that I have the ability to feel, hone in on and harness the universes’ invisible energy current for my own personal use, and eventually for use on others (when I felt the time was right).

Everything that happened during the day went past in a blur, no real focus or mental notes on what was happening and nothing that was happening had any significance, instead my focus was on the weather report and on the clock. I didn’t really need to consult the Met Office often too often though, as all I needed to do was look out of the window, not a cloud to spoil the aqua marine blueness of the earth’s lid.

I was getting rather excited by late afternoon and it was then that I started to gather up the things on my checklist for the beach. Picnic mat, blanket, hand-warmers, herbal tea, lighter, joysticks, yoga chairs,x-mini speakers, portable Buddha figurine and of course Chupa Chup lollipops. I got a message from “L” around that time saying that she had a surprise in store, and also was it ok for her boyfriend to come down and take some photos of her first beach attunement.

Just as I was closing the lid on my laptop, I noticed something that had been staring me in the face for literally two weeks. I had changed my laptop wallpaper after I had started meditating each morning to that of a solitary meditating figure, silhouetted from a light source in front of him. The realisation was that it was me. It was I that sat on the floor in the half-lotus position (the yellowy hue representing the beach). It was the setting sun behind wispy clouds which would be in the same position, behind the same wispy clouds as predicted by the Met office. It was the dark line at the edge of the horizon that represented the Irish Sea at its lowest ebb.

And so 5:15pm came, time to go. Firing up the Jeep I headed down the bright sun-lit streets and made my way to the lane which leads to the particular stretch of beach scheduled for the session. I got there a little early but I did so on purpose, sitting in the car, looking out to sea, my favourite track on the car CD player, pre-meditated and pre-meditation. It wasn’t too long before “L” and “P” joined me in their respective automobiles, “L” sharing the news that someone had just crashed into her car, leaving only a minor dent in the VW, no injuries acquired.

After gathering all of the things from the boot of the car, we made our way over the beach to a spot I had selected earlier and set up camp for the next two hours. Once everything was set up, she revealed the first surprise of the evening, which was that she was going to start my Reiki Level Three by inscribing on me the reiki master symbol (Dai Ku Myo) and that journey (although longer) would start today, and by doing so, I would attune “P”. When she sent me the text earlier, I had a strange feeling that she was going to say that. Once thing she did say was that of the students that she had brought through the ranks in the past year(s|), the energies she felt in me were really strong, and that my intentions for inner and outer healing (of others) were virtuous and just to do this tonight.

With that, I drew the reiki symbols on the sand so I could show her that I had learned them, which she was happy with. Sat comfortably on the yoga bean-bag chair, I then closed my eyes, “zenned” out, getting lost in the rhythm of the music as she made her way around my various chakras. I was facing the sun, universal energy from the source, and as I did so, I felt the energy coursing, my eyes, nose and lips trembling with kinetics as swirls of ghostly-white mist filled my view. It felt incredible. It felt real. It did not feel like it was the result of some psychosomatic delusion or projected hallucination, it felt like a connection, with another person, with another force.

After the attunement was complete, I sat a while in position still, raising my awareness to where we where and not that other place briefly, and then it was my turn to attune “P”, which I did. The energy was not so intense this time, perhaps because it was the first time that I had done it, but it was a good one nonetheless. When I asked him to bring his awareness back to the here and now, he did so, but almost not as he said he was drifting off to sleep (I do have that effect on people, women mostly)…

We talked a while about the experience and it was at that point that I had a revelation. I had been looking for reiki shares and meditation circles for some time over the last 6 months, all to no avail. And in that brief moment of clarity, sat there on the beach, watching the sun starting to set behind the wave-breaker rocks, and it dawned on me that I should set up my own beach meditation circle/school. If there is nothing out there, the do. Create. Ok I was still a veritable novice when it comes to reiki, yoga and meditation, but by god was I willing to learn and learn fast if it meant setting this thing up. “L” was excited to say the least. So then we set about setting it up:

  • Who would be involved (organisers).
  • What our Facebook page logo look like (and who would create it).
  • How much it wouldn’t cost (nothing – it would be a free to join activity).
  • When would we do it (starting off in May/June when the weather turned).
  • Where would we do it (right here where we currently sat on the beach).
  • Why would we be doing it (because there isn’t such a thing, and the beach is a place of wonder where a group of like-minded individuals can meet up, chill out, learns new techniques and talk about the universe and the ever-after).

So with that all agreed, “L” and “P” started to think about moving to the local Harvester restaurant for a coffee, some food and further food for thought on the beach meds school. I was not done though. I had something left to do. I took my Harry Potter-style wand and before me in the sand, I drew two power symbols either side of the distance symbol. I selected the Anoushka Shankar track on the playlist and assumed the position. I asked “L” to come behind me with one hand in front and one behind my heart chakra, I asked her to support and guide my energy back 22 years to the day my life changed forever, sending the tinnitus frequencies on a journey through time and space to the loser that lay smashed out of his brains, with no purpose in his life.

Instead of intensity, they was an inner peace, a steady flow of energy rather than a bolt of lightning. Serenity over the supersonic. I felt warm. I felt calm. I came out of the trance and brought my attention back to the beach, and opened my eyes. “L” was not there, she was stood way back. I didn’t feel her back away at any point, I felt as if she was still there. Walking over to her I asked her what she had experienced during that, and what she revealed too me back a little. She said that after a while a presence presented itself to my left hand side, and she saw an energy field of a figure standing next to me. Her exact words were “It was a man. The man was stood up very straight and with strength, almost to attention. I got the impression that it was your grandfather from your dads side. It was him that was guiding you in the end, not me”. I did not see anything with my own eyes (neither opened or closed) but I did feel that there was someone close to me, presuming wrongly it was still “L”.

The outline description of a man I had never met was ever so accurate. My grandfather was a Sergeant Major in the British Army who served as a Chindit in Burma during World War II, who died of gangrene years after his return to the UK. For some reason (and I guess that this is reflected in my “primary problem”) my father never ever spoke of him, no matter how many times I asked him, asking me instead to go speak to my uncle who knew a lot more about his war days. And for some reason even though we had never met, I have always felt that I have had some sort of connection to him, as I too am quite strong willed and driven, just like my aunt who passed away two years ago. I only ever recall seeing one photo of him, and as I wrote this (the last Level Two entry), I quickly googled the word Chindit in Wiki and found that there was a picture of the men of the 13th Battalion King’s Liverpool Regiment, which he may well have served in (being from Liverpool), and even sadder is that he may even be in the picture below without me knowing if he is or not.

Smiling, I gathered both my thoughts and my beach-wares and made it back over to the car, a distinct chill in the now air. Thankfully the restaurant was not too far away, and as we entered the beautiful red sun high the water setting it on fire from afar. We all took a hot drink and ate heartily and we swapped notes on all things “new age”, excited that our next journey back to the beach could be with several other friends, chilling out at group meditation sessions on Mother Earth’s golden sands of time.

I am now a fully fledged membe rof the Reiki Two Battalion…

ADDENDUM:

So last night I put a status update on Facebook, asking any friends if they would be keep to join in on a beach meditation circle this summer, and the response I had was very positive and quite voluminous.

I have always been a big fan of Lego, and as such I took the liberty of creating a “Lego Yoga Me” (ok me when I had really long hair) and this morning as I took the pooch for a walk, I lay him down on the beach, sat on his yoga mat and took some snaps. I may take this little figurine with me on my travels and take cool snaps of “Lego Yoga Me” from various locations, could be a bit of fun.

In closing, my Reiki Level Two has been an enlightening experience, and given me a sense of inner peace, direction in life, and some new techniques which will allow further improvements to mind, body and soul. Who knows, one day I may be able to turn around to “L” and legitimately say “When I met you I was the learner, now I am the (reiki) master”…

 

Leave a Reply

