Reiki Diary Level 2 Cleansing: Day 15


Getting the red eye train from Liverpool, I had no intentions whatsoever at getting up at 4 something for my early morning meds, instead the plan was to adopt my successful plan of action last time I was in London, namely an on-the-go session between Watford and Euston. After seeing the Ovaltine sign just outside Watford, on went the sitar soundtrack and out came the cosmic mudra, closed went the eyes, and on went the reiki, oblivious and not caring whether any on-lookers were watching.

Feeling calm and at peace, I got off the train and headed across town on the tube to Canary Wharf, home base for the next 36 hours. My good friend from Norway “P” was over to discuss project matters so we had a great catch up for the first 2 hours of the working day (in between work of course) and lunch time saw “N” and I go for our last supper, our now traditional falafel box salad with extra chilli from a street stall underneath the now second tallest building in the capital. We talked about old projects, shared a few laughs and caught up on her up-and-coming wedding in Malaysia and subsequent relocation to the good ole US of A.

After lunch, we got our heads down for four hours solid and delivered some good results, agreeing that face to face collaboration and connections really does beat virtualisation every time.

Back home the kids were off school due to the National Union of Teachers strike, so the wife had taken our daughter off to a local indoor play centre. I got a phone call early afternoon from my son saying that mum was out and that he needed cash to go to the cinema with his friends, so as I was short of time and otherwise engaged in the workshop, I told him to try find some money in his brothers room and that I would square it with him later on.

About 4:15pm, I received a call from my wife who was raging as “L” had not come home and she was already late for college. She asked what had gone on and I told her that he had called me earlier and that he said he was going to the cinema. She advised that she would have to wait until her mum came home from work and drop our daughter off there, potentially missing a client who was coming in for therapy. Once she had got in college, she called me back livid, livid at the fact that we do everything for “L” and get nothing in return, little / no respect, never picking up after himself, always demanding and getting what he wants. Things got very personal and very heated very quickly, it was a good job there was not a swear jar at either end of the phone else we would be skint already, only being paid 18 hours earlier.

Sadly, it put a real downer on me for the rest of the evening which was “Ns” leaving party, a party that I had spent ages arranging (drink provisions/travel itineraries/meal requirements etc), so that was a shame. We did share in a few laughs and stories of her global travels with work, but after the meal ended and with a full tummy, I decided to go back to the hotel early and get my head down, not really in the mood for partying and also mindful that I had another workshop the next day…

Leave a Reply

