Reiki Diary Level 2 Cleansing: Day 14


I do love my morning meds. I would encourage absolutely everyone to do it. Sure it takes patience to get into it at first, sure it takes resolve to do it daily, but the benefits of just 30 minutes of meditation at the start and/or the end of the day really is a small price to pay.

Taking on board what the wife said at the weekend about my external forces, I focused in on these today and used the power and harmony symbols accordingly. Mindful I need to exude peace as well as imbibe it, the rest of the day was spent working really hard, but at times when outer peace was required, I managed to stay in control, acknowledging certain situations and reacting to them positively.

Towards the end of my morning meds, I heard a little voice outside the living room door, followed by a pretty if a little sleepy face peering into the darkened room. “Are you doing reiki dad?” she asked politely. I told her I was doing meditation and would she like to join me. Glowingly she said yes, so I took another pillow from the sofa and we sat there next to each other, listening to my solfreggio frequencies, eyes closed in a half-lotus position, adopting the gyan mudra with each hand.

After a few minutes, we opened our eyes and I asked her how she was feeling. She said she was ok but that her leg hurt a little. I placed the three large cushions on the floor and told her to lie down on them and relax. I laid my hands on her thighs, then knees, shins, ankles and then feet. When I get to her feet I also end up doing the “This little piggy went to market” routine and the whole things descends into a tickling frenzy, the both of us sharing some early morning laughs before school.

For some reason, as I was preparing the breakfast when she came into the kitchen with a glum look on her face. I asked her what was the matter and she said she was worried about school that day. She said that her teacher had told her to try and focus better as the tasks she was getting were not being completed in time. I teased it out of her that in certain classes, she sits next to her friends and gets distracted. I sat her down and told her not to worry, if she needed to take her time to do things right first time then that was good, and that I would go and see teacher to see of for such lessons she could move her to a quieter table so she could concentrate more to get things done in time, and that playtime was time for play and catch up with her chums.

Off she went upstairs to brush her teeth. A few minutes later the wife came into the kitchen smiling asking me what I had just said to her. As “K” was brushing her teeth, she was nattering to herself (like she always does) “My dad is my hero. I love him. He fixes all of my problems”. Made my day and it wasn’t even 8:00am.

Mid-morning I had a message from my friend who was going to see “L” for her first reiki session in the evening. I was hoping that she wasn’t going to put it off as I think it would be great for her. The message read that she was really looking forward to it and could I give her the postcode and directions on how to get there, which I dutifully did.

“If I seem a little strange, that’s because I am” Morrissey once penned. This sounds crazy because it is, and maybe that’s because I am. I “reikied” my laptop. Around 11:30 my laptop started to do odd things. So I rebooted it. No change. Rule number one in the IT Support Manual. Didn’t work. So I summoned up some inner static and did my best Mr Miyage impression over the keyboard (hope no one was looking in through the dining room window at the time) and followed it up by another reboot. Success! Everything was back to normal, besides me most likely.

Feeling good that I now had powers over inanimate objects, off we popped to pick up dad-in-law for our weekly swim, which we all enjoyed a lot. Busy afternoon ahead, which involved me packing a bag for my trip to London in the morning, either side of a meeting sandwich. The evening saw my sons first audition for a TV and Film casting agency over the water near Southport. I asked him if he was nervous and he said that he wasn’t. He is a supremely confident youngling, nothing like me when I was his age. He had been asked to read out or recite a poem from memory, but as he is not a poem person, instead he prepared and delivered (not that we were allowed to see) a monologue from the Shawshank Redemption, the scene where Morgan Freeman has his parole board hearing and the panel ask him about redemption.

We also listened carefully to a lady who gave a small presentation about the agency, giving us some pearls of wisdom about how it operates and some key themes like time management and preparing the kids for rejection as there will be a lot of it. What she was saying was really good, just what he was looking for. The lady also shared that their key success was Emma Rigby, a girl who had been with them for years, went through the ranks of Hollyoaks (UK drama series) and came out the other side a Hollywood star (starring in a film with Michael Fassbender, Penelope Cruz and Cameron Diaz which is out on the silver screen soon).

After the audition we drove back to base and swapped notes about how things went in both rooms. He said that he got asked a few questions before his monologue which threw him a bit, but he said that in his opinion he did really well, the director gave him some instant feedback that what he had done was quite unique (he even put on a Tennessee accent), not confirming whether unique was good or not so good. We will know within the next seven days whether he has got in or not and that’s when the hard work begins, acting exams in June, plenty of car journeys / auditions / rejections and jubilations to follow no doubt.

My final action before retiring was to put a personal note in “Ns” book from the wife and I, gift wrap it and pop it in the overnight bag before I forgot.

One week of cleansing left…

One thought on “Reiki Diary Level 2 Cleansing: Day 14

Leave a Reply

