So what is a breadcrumb diary?


First I shall define the origins of the term breadcrumb, and more specifically what a “new age breadcrumb trail” is.

The original term breadcrumb is quite literally a small fragment of bread. In the digital age, this term has taken on a new meaning. Breadcrumbs or a breadcrumb trail is a navigation aid used in user interfaces, which allows users to keep track of their locations within programs or documents. The term breadcrumb trail comes from the trail of breadcrumbs left by Hansel and Gretel in the popular fairytale.

If one looks deeper into the meaning of that story, the act of leaving pieces of flint or breadcrumbs in order to find their way back home could also be a psychological connection of the brain wanting to remember something important. Since this tale is written in a dream-like way, that could be what the bread crumbs were referring to. Also, when the birds had eaten the bread crumbs in the night and therefore eliminating their trail to home, this could be some sort of forgetfulness of the subconcious, like you had the memory in front of you and then it was lost.

In my personal quest to find out the most logical reason to why I am here, I have expanded my knowledge base to include alternative / non-mainstream theories, all of which I will refer to and cover in great detail on my “History of Everything” blog on this site.

To that end, I have decided to keep what I will call a breadcrumb diary. From a new age perspective, such breadcrumbs are markers, identifiers that reality may not be as it seems, synchronicities (fortuitous or otherwise), pointers which possibly suggest that the mainstream theists and athiests have it all wrong. Each entry will detail a daily count of coincidence, deja vu and other odd experiences that happen to me over the coming months, until such time as the “History of Everything” is complete.

Of course breadcrumbs can also be categorised as coincidence (from the mundane likelies to the utterly unbelievable improbables), but as the Jehovah’s Witnesses would have us question, what is the actual probability of extreme examples of coincidence occurring, and can such coincidences be proven scientifically?

My wife already thinks I’ve lost the plot, her question being “What are you writing this for?”. Not what am I writing, but what am I writing it for. As a true Bill Hicks fan would respond “I’m writing it so I don’t become a waffle waitress”…

Leave a Reply

