Reiki Diary: Day 11


Smokey scenes of distant vistas, of Istanbul, Kuala Lumpur and Manila. The most bizarre recollection was the journey to the top of the lift shaft in the Petronas Towers, with me sitting atop an ascending lift. Upon my arrival at the 88th floor, there was a dusty tome full of ancient and unspeakable horrors to the side which I grasped with both hands, after which I lowered myself through the hatch and descended at great speed, which woke me with a churning stomach.

Can’t seem to sleep in past 5.30am these days. It’s either “K” awake early because of either the light or the heat (or perhaps both) in her room, or it’s the tap dancing dog, who’s overgrown nails pitter-patter upon the laminate.

My tinnitus was quite bad this morning, I could not quite work out whether it was the lack of sleep or something else. Will monitor the situation over the next few days.

After dropping “K” off at school, I made my way down the hill and flicked through the morning news feed, to find new musical recommendations from Vinnie Cavanagh from Anathema. Spotification immediately took place back at the ranch and playlists from Blackfield, Mothlite, North Atlantic Oscillation and Engineers were installed with haste. From my initial cycle through each of their selected albums, Blackfield seem to be the one that stuck out the most, most likely because they are fronted by the redoubtable Steven Wilson.

The rest of the day pretty much resembled the last, with frantic updates to my core document set which are still to be signed off, as my annual leave looms ominously closer.

Not that the day was overwhelmingly negative, but I’ve not been my usual positive self today. Not sure whether it’s the lack of sleep, lack of focus or lack of sign offs which has dictated my personal weather forecast of ‘overcast with the slight chance of drizzle’.

My late night work didn’t materialise, so looks like I’ll be flat out in the morning, trying to get everything done before I close my lid for nine days.

On a positive note, I’ve been all over the place on my bike today, with two trips to St Marys College ferry “K” to and from her dance lessons. For the second trip to pick her up, I was accompanied by Anoushka Shankar (daughter of Ravi Shankar and sister of Nora Jones), which had the desired effect. As I was sloping down Sandy Lane at speed, the wind parting my hair, the sun cut a hole through the houses and the sounds of sitar and tabla reminded me that a little music and a nod to the elements can make everything alright again.

I guess today was the first reiki-free day. Got to get back on it tomorrow, for sure…

Leave a Reply

